Those Doors…

Not the band.  The band was pretty cool.  Remember the post about doors and doorbells? And now a quote that popped up in my google app this morning…

When one door of happiness closes, another opens, but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one that has been opened for us.–Helen Keller

Ok, I confess.  It didn’t randomly pop up.  I kept opening tabs until I found one that I wanted.  There were also a few more that were appropriate, but I didn’t like them enough.  Or they had too much hidden meaning.

Fall seven times and stand up eight.–Japanese Proverb

When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.–Henry Ford

Believe you can and you’re halfway there.-Theodore Roosevelt

The best revenge is massive success.–Frank Sinatra

(Yeah, I like the last one maybe more than I should.  But it didn’t move me.  It did, but it’s not where I wanted to go with this post).

I’ve had this post brewing for the last week or so.  But it wouldn’t quite form.  Things didn’t work out the way I wanted.  My plans didn’t work out the way I envisioned them.  Or did they?  People say when one door opens, another one closes and all that, but I can tell you – we have to tell ourselves that in order to move on.  It’s disappointing.  I put a lot of effort into what I was trying to accomplish, and it just didn’t work.  Could I have done more?  Maybe.  Am I feeling snarky about it?  Oh, yeah, just not out loud to anyone other than Larry.  But the sting has faded.

But I kept getting the image of those doors and doorbells in my head.  This set me back, and there are things that I still want to do.  I’m not giving up on me.  I have kinda joked with family that my new project is now me, for the first time.  But that’s the thing.  Part of being Me is doing the things I have been doing.

Now it’s just a matter of finding that next door and deciding if I want to knock on it.

About Chelle

I'm just me. WYSIWYG. A little dash of hyper, a little more of sarcasm. And a whole bunch of honesty.
Aside | This entry was posted in Inspiration, Leadership, Strength. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

